An Unlucky Camping Trip

It is December and my family is in the car about to pull into the St.George Island campground after getting lost on the way at least once.  Finally we get to the check-in station but the guy isn’t very nice and it takes like five minutes to get checked in.  We get to the campsite and set up-  then we go out to the beach, happy to get out of the car and in high spirits.  I try to build a sandcastle and have fun at first, but then the whole thing collapsed because of tunnels I dug underneath.  I built it again and again and it collapsed again and again. 

We went back to the campsite.  Grace and I played in the bushes and that was fun, but soon Mom and Dad made us go get a bundle of firewood that weighed about 50 pounds!  The woodpile was a long way from the campsite so hauling it was agonizing. 

Mom and Dad made a fire and started to cook dinner While lighting the fire, Mom accidentally lights her hand on fire but hurridly puts it out, no harm done.   Grace and I climbed in trees.  Then, the mosquitoes came out. they bit us and annoyed us a lot! 

Now it’s dark and time to eat, and we sit down but Grace starts whining and getting upset because she can’t see her food.  We stuggle through an unpleasant dinner.  After dinner I can’t get the annoying sand off my feet, I rinse them off but that just gets them more sandy when I try to walk. I do this at least three times.  We go to sleep but it starts to rain and the tent leaks.  Grace and I wake up in the car, just before home.

2 thoughts on “An Unlucky Camping Trip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *